Saturday, 12 October 2013

Meme: Stuck In My Head #8 - Cold War Kids


Stuck In My Head is a new weekly meme that spotlights the songs you just can't seem to get out of your head. 


There's pretty much only one thing I am sure of at this moment in time and that is that God is speaking to us through Cold War Kids. As a new A Level student I don't exactly have the time to just lounge around listening to music and listening to music alone. That being said I think I've made every mundane task infinitely more enjoyable and interesting by listening to a little (*cough* a lot of *cough*) Cold War Kids: suddenly studying is a task that I fly through and sticking my phone into my bra when I have no pockets is a tolerable thing because now I can have Hang Me Out To Dry or Audience playing while I tidy my room or kick around a football. 

It was too hard for me to pick just one song so yes, this week I have picked the whole band. Cold War Kids are an awesome indie rock band from America and they have been around since 2004 so I am really embarrassed that I hadn't heard of them until very recently. 

I'm really surprised these guys aren't more popular, I truly am in love with their sound, but anyhow.. here are a couple of my favourite tunes... I do hope you like them. :) 






What has been stuck in your head this week? Is there a song/artist you like to listen to while studying? Feel free to comment below, I'd love to discover more music. :) 

Saturday, 5 October 2013

Meme: Stuck In My Head #7 - Harlem


Stuck In My Head is a new weekly meme that spotlights the songs you just can't seem to get out of your head. 


For the last couple of days there has been one song that I have just completely and utterly fallen in love with. Harlem by New Politics is just one of those songs that makes you smile so hard.. and that music video? Oh God. I've never been much of a fan girl but this music video with this adorable dorky dancing lead singer makes me gush and squeal and I have just found out that watching this in public is a no-no for me. 

New Politics is a band from Copenhagen, Denmark and they have been together since 2009. The members are David Boyd, Søren Hansen and Louis Vecchio (with David Boyd being the lead singer I officially have the biggest crush on). New Politics have performed as the opening act to Fall Out Boy (love) and although they have released two albums so far I'm actually quite scared to listen to any more of their songs, just in case I don't like them as much as Harlem. 

Anywhoo.. have a listen to Harlem. I hope it makes you smile. :) 



What has been stuck in your head this week? An artist or a song... feel free to leave a comment below, I'd love to discover new music to obsess over. :D

Saturday, 21 September 2013

Meme: Stuck In My Head #6 - Royals


Stuck In My Head is a new weekly meme that spotlights the songs you just can't seem to get out of your head. 


Howdy! So a couple of days ago I was procrastinating my life away (as you do) and scrolling through my twitter timeline and I came across a tweet I couldn't really make sense of... it was a lyric of course and as an extremely curious - nosy - person I typed 'Let's go down to the tennis court, and talk it up like yeah' into Google and discovered the song Tennis Court by Lorde. I kid you not, her voice is addictive to the point of crazy and although I adored Tennis Court, after a little more clicking away at Youtube suggestions I found Royals by Lorde and this song... this song is so incredibly awesome.  

Ella Yelich-O'Connor, or Lorde, is a 16 (!!!!) year old singer-songwriter from New Zealand who recently released her first EP, The Love Club EP, in March 2013. Royals, if I put it simply, is about being broke. I didn't think a song about having no money could be so beautiful sounding. 

Yes, it's a little different but if you're a fan of Lana Del Rey or have a thing for random but weirdly deep lyrics set to a catchy tune, I'm pretty sure you'll like Lorde. Have a try... 



(The single hasn't actually been released yet but you can pre-order) itunes: https://itunes.apple.com/gb/album/royals-single/id678803818

How about you? What has been stuck in your head? I have actually also really enjoyed listening to Miley Cyrus' Wrecking Ball recently. I know the video has been very controversial for our Hannah-Montana-turned-twerking-pop-star's lack of clothing however I still really like the song (especially the acoustic version), it's emotional and haunting. The video may not be everybody's cup of tea but I personally don't really have a problem with it, there are plenty of music videos with scantily dressed or naked pop stars. Have you heard Wrecking Ball? What do you think of it? The song and the video? 

Monday, 16 September 2013

Review: Time Between Us by Tamara Ireland Stone

Summary (from Goodreads):
Anna and Bennett were never supposed to meet. Why would they? Anna is sixteen in 1995, fiercely determined to leave her quiet town and finally travel the world. Bennett's seventeen in 2012, living in San Francisco and trying to control his ability to travel through time - an incredible gift, but also an unpredictable curse, which constantly threatens to separate him from the people he loves.

When Bennett suddenly finds himself in Anna's world, they are inescapably drawn to one another - it's almost as if they have met before. But they both know, deep down, that it can never last. For no matter how desperate Bennett is to stay with Anna, his condition will inevitably knock him right back to where he belongs - and Anna will be left to pick up the pieces.

Time Between Us is possibly one of the most adorable books I have ever had the good fortune of reading. This is what I call a pick me up book with just the right amount of bittersweet romance, cute teenage first love looks across a room and just a sprinkling of crazy time travel on the top. I really couldn't get enough of it.

What irritates me so much with a lot of popular teen books is that authors feel the need to create so much superficial angst with characters who have too many love interests and are stuck wondering which person they would rather be with or something similar to that. Time Between Us is the romance between two individuals who can't be together because time - like actual proper time.. I'm talking Dr Who space continuum time... yeah, this shit is real - separates them. If that's not star-crossed lovers I don't know what is.


Speaking of said star-crossed lovers, Anna and Bennett are too cute for words. I've probably said this already (probably more than once) but wow, so adorable. This is cheesy grin inducing, a basket full of kittens, rainbows and unicorns adorable. Really.


I loved that I also like Anna on her own, when she wasn't with Bennett. If Anna decided to jump out of fiction and have a little gander in the real world, I would be honoured to be her friend. (The fact that her family owns a bookstore has nothing to do with my feelings, of course not.) Stone creates Anna as a very relatable character (she blushes over the littlest of things, she is my soul sister) who always tries to think of her friends and her family but also has ambition and dreams of her own which I absolutely adored about her. A lot of Anna's inner dialogue is really enjoyable to read and there so many thoughts that really resonated with me e.g.: 

“I stood there and stared at it—this colorful expanse of paper, with its topographic mountain ranges and changeable shades of blue to depict the various depths of the ocean—and saw a map of the world, but knew it wasn’t mine. My world was much, much smaller” 

This novel is too sweet to pass up. Yes, the ending was a little too perfect and not very likely but this is a teen romance about time travel, who really needs a perfectly believable ending? Overall, the characters are truly lovable, the writing is lovely and the story line, addictive... that's all you need from a book to let you effectively escape from your world for a little while.


Music choice: There's something about Time Between Us that really does scream proper Love Story. What better song to sum up all that then Taylor Swift's Love Story that speaks of star-crossed lovers and lonely characters? Here it is.. Love Story by Taylor Swift. :) 






Thursday, 12 September 2013

Review: Stealing Parker by Miranda Kenneally

Summary (from Goodreads):
Red-hot author Miranda Kenneally hits one out of the park in this return to Catching Jordan's Hundred Oaks High.

Parker Shelton pretty much has the perfect life. She’s on her way to becoming valedictorian at Hundred Oaks High, she’s made the all-star softball team, and she has plenty of friends. Then her mother’s scandal rocks their small town and suddenly no one will talk to her.

Now Parker wants a new life.

So she quits softball. Drops twenty pounds. And she figures why kiss one guy when she can kiss three? Or four. Why limit herself to high school boys when the majorly cute new baseball coach seems especially flirty?

But how far is too far before she loses herself completely?

Stealing Parker is a summer read, pure and simple. While Kenneally's debut of Catching Jordan mainly captured my attention with its unpredictable romance, I enjoyed Stealing Parker for entirely different reasons. There is still of course the sporty female protagonists but in the place of surprising love interests, Parker's relationship with God and her religion took centre stage for me. It was incredibly interesting to read about a teenage girl's struggle with her faith grow and change and develop (seen through sporadic diary entries/letters addressed to God) while she went through some heavy family problems and also some other teenage girl dilemmas. Stealing Parker is a great mix of deep ideas in the midst of some not so deep ones.

Parker is a pretty good protagonist and although there were times I felt she was a little grating, she surprisingly grows quite a lot in such a pretty short book. Parker is confused about a lot of things in her life (including boys, faith and especially her parents) just like the majority of teenagers and although she makes some - pretty big - mistakes, they are understandable in her position and they make her an even more relatable character to teens. (Who wants to read about a perfect perfect-y perfect-son anyway, right? :) )

I really enjoyed reading about Parker and her various relationships from her romantic relationship with her older - and irritating - baseball coach to her very realistic family relationships. One of my very favourite parts of Stealing Parker are the couple of last scenes with Parker's brother which are just too adorable for words. The parts I disliked are probably just all the ones with Coach Brian, I found him creepy right off the bat (look at me with my sport metaphors) and I was constantly shouting at Parker through the pages to ditch him and realise that Will is just the cutest thing.

All in all Stealing Parker is lovely book to pick up if you're looking for a fun high school book with some substance. Stealing Parker isn't a surprising read, it's pretty damn predictable if I'm being honest, but it is a sweet one and we all need a little sweetness in our lives.


Music choice: A big part about Stealing Parker was about being a little lost and confused.. about everything. So here you go, Lost by Coldplay.



itunes link: https://itunes.apple.com/gb/album/lost!-ep/id294155980

Saturday, 31 August 2013

Meme: Stuck In My Head #5 - Clementine


Stuck In My Head is a new weekly meme that spotlights the songs you just can't seem to get out of your head. 


Hey friends! So today, here's an awesome tune that I have relentlessly played over and over again for the last couple of days. It is the amazing sound that is Clementine by Sarah Jaffe. 

Once again I was listening to my Youtube playlists I happen across once in a while and this came on and I suddenly felt the urge to stop everything I was doing (ie. scrolling through tumblr and eating..) to give this song my whole attention. There's something about this song and Sarah Jaffe's voice that is simply mesmerising. 

Admittedly I hadn't heard of Sarah Jaffe until I stumbled across Clementine but Sarah is a singer-songwriter from Denton, Texas and has been in the business since 2007. I can't wait to listen to more of her music and I look forward to stalking her on every social networking site I find her on. ;) 




How about you guys? What song has been rattling around in your head for a while? Feel free to tell me what you're listening to at the moment in the comments and also, if it reminds you of anything, perhaps a book you've read or a memory you have. :) 

Monday, 19 August 2013

Review: Foretold by Jana Oliver

Summary (from Goodreads):
In the fourth Demon Trappers novel, Riley faces the final battle for humanity and Beck's heart—and Hell is the least of her problems
Now that Riley’s managed to (just barely) fend off Armageddon, everything’s changed. Well . . . most things. After their passionate kiss before the big battle in the cemetery, Beck is back to treating her like a little girl, as if nothing ever happened. While she’d love to just tell him off and move on, Riley vowed to take care of Beck the way he’s taken care of her since her father’s death—but she’s about to get a whole lot more than she bargained for. When she’s commissioned to go with Beck to his hometown and help him care for his dying mother, they stumble too close to a dark and murderous secret, one that Beck fears will drive Riley away from him forever. As chaos breaks loose, Riley may be Beck's only hope for redemption . . . and survival.

Meanwhile, up in Atlanta, it’s quickly becoming clear that Heaven may have won a battle, but the war is far from over. Riley and Beck face a stormy future, as Lucifer's ex-right-hand-man, Sartael, proves himself to be more resilient than anyone thought. He has Atlanta in his grip and is about to begin a brutal war with the prince of Hell. As the seconds tick down toward a final confrontation, it's up to Riley and the man she loves to finally defeat their old enemy, or lose everything they've fought for.

As I haven't reviewed the previous books in this series, I've decided that instead of simply reviewing Foretold alone, this will be an overall - and a little vague - review of the Demon Trappers series. Yaay!

From Forsaken to Foretold, the plot is consistently entertaining and the writing engaging. These books are fast paced and action filled, perfect for those who love paranormal fiction but want less predictable guy in the paranormal world falling for the human girl (and all the drama and pain their all consuming love brings the world) and more deathly battles, manipulative fallen angels and demons ranging from pesky little thieves to soul stealing seducers. Oliver creates an imaginative, unique and layered world that is easy and enjoyable for readers to get lost in.

The characters are all not obviously good or inherently evil. Riley and all the other characters introduced are perfectly flawed making for not only an entertaining read but one where you can also relate with the characters. While the characters' traits are realistic, some of their dialogue and gestures are quite ridiculous. I found myself raising my eyebrows at multiple thumbs up and when Riley was feeling super generous, both thumbs up. Wow. To me, it felt a little over the top and a bit like Oliver was trying really hard to get the essence of being a young and "hip" person and it just didn't pay off all the time.

Just like the characters, the romance throughout The Demon Trappers series has its positives and negatives. What I loved so very much about the romance in The Demon Trappers is that all Riley's relationships lead up to and build up to the eventual pairing in Foretold. The tiny hints starting in Forsaken suddenly make sense in Foretold and that is just so adorable. The only slight problem I had with the romance in Foretold is that because the relationship isn't explored in this way until this book, the relationship seemed to develop and get incredibly serious very quickly. Other than that, it is all very sweet and cute and awwhr-inducing. :)

Overall, The Demon Trappers has everything that a Young Adult Paranormal should have (ie. witches with ever changing chest tattoos and the Vatican making an appearance every now and then ;)) and I would definitely, definitely recommend it. Due to the intricate world of The Demon Trappers I truly believe that if Oliver wanted she could add more books to this series or even create a spin off series. All I can say is that if that ever happens, I'll be the first one to grab them off the shelves.


Music choice:  This is for Beck who loves country music and because the title 'If You're Going Through Hell' really does sound like a good fit for a demon trapper book about Heaven/Hell feud, doesn't it? :) This is If You're Going Through Hell by Rodney Atkins...


itunes link: https://itunes.apple.com/gb/album/if-youre-going-through-hell/id162357783

Saturday, 17 August 2013

Meme: Stuck In My Head #4 - No Angels


Stuck In My Head is a new weekly meme that spotlights the songs you just can't seem to get out of your head. 


Howdy! This week the song that I have replayed way too many times to still be considered sane is... dun dun dun (I don't know why I'm doing a drum roll, the song title is in the post title)... No Angels by Bastille feat. Ella. IT IS THE MOST AWESOME THING. I just love the sound and the rhythm and.. and.. this is probably one of my favourite things at the moment. 

What's different about this pick from my previous Stuck In My Head choices is that this tune is a mash-up combining the music of The XX's Angels and the lyrics of TLC's No Scrubs. That's a fact there that you might just need to know in general knowledge quiz (...you won't). :) 

I had heard of The XX before and I am a fan but I hadn't heard of TLC so I looked up the song No Scubs and to be completely honest, I wasn't too keen on it. Nonetheless, for some reason while I didn't enjoy the lyrics much when listening to the original, I love them when listening to No Angels. Perhaps it's because I adore Bastille's music and I liked their twist on it, somehow making it a song with more emotion and depth. 

Bastille is a British band formed in 2010 you should definitely check out because they have created some crazy awesome stuff. This tune appears on their second mixtape, Other People's Heartache Pt. 2. :) 




What about you? What song can you just not get out of your head this week? Does your pick remind you of a book you've read? Please feel free to comment with your picks and do tell me if you like No Angels. :) 


Wednesday, 14 August 2013

Meme: "Waiting On" Wednesday #9 - Isla and the Happily Ever After



"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly meme, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming novels that we're all eagerly anticipating.


Gimme gimme gimme noooow. I actually forgot about this for a while but while I was browsing through my to be read lists on Goodreads I re discovered this utter gem. 


Series: Second companion to Anna and the French Kiss 
Expected Publication: May 13th 2014 by Dutton

Summary (from Goodreads): 
From the glittering streets of Manhattan to the moonlit rooftops of Paris, falling in love is easy for hopeless dreamer Isla and introspective artist Josh. But as they begin their senior year in France, Isla and Josh are quickly forced to confront the heartbreaking reality that happily-ever-afters aren’t always forever.

Their romantic journey is skillfully intertwined with those of beloved couples Anna and Étienne and Lola and Cricket, whose paths are destined to collide in a sweeping finale certain to please fans old and new.

Holy mother of STEPANIE PERKINS.. DO YOU WANT ME TO CRY?! 

^what he said

This group of companion novels is just too awesome for words. It's a mix of cute writing, sweet romance, eccentric characters and amazing backdrops...WHAT MORE COULD YOU WANT FROM A CONTEMPORARY YA BOOK? EH? MY EXCITEMENT CAN ONLY BE EXPRESSED THROUGH CAPS LOCKS AND RIDICULOUS GIFS. 


Anywhoo.. what book are you eagerly waiting for? What book are you just itching read right now? Feel free to leave your answers or if you have a blog, a link to your own "Waiting on" Wednesdays, in the comments. I love finding out about awesome books that I can't read yet (..). ;) 

Bye for now! :)

<a href="http://www.bloglovin.com/blog/5672797/?claim=9vcq5e9fjvw">Follow my blog with Bloglovin</a>

Tuesday, 13 August 2013

Review: Unravelling by Elizabeth Norris

Summary (from Goodreads):
STOP THE COUNTDOWN. SAVE THE WORLD…

Leaving the beach, seventeen-year-old Janelle Tenner is hit head on by a pickup truck.

And killed.

Then Ben Michaels, resident stoner, is leaning over her. And even though it isn’t possible, she knows Ben somehow brought her back to life…

Meanwhile, Janelle’s father, a special agent for the FBI, starts working on a case that seems strangely connected to Ben. Digging in his files, Janelle finds a mysterious device – one that seems to be counting down to something that will happen in 23 days and 10 hours time.

That something? It might just be the end of the world. And if Janelle wants to stop it, she’s going to need to uncover Ben’s secrets – and keep from falling in love with him in the process…

Unravelling is enthralling, sweet and exciting.. in short, I would recommend it.

Having not read much sci fi novels before, the premise of multiple universes existing and the idea that if two of these many universes meet, mutual destruction is inevitable is just fascinating to read. Not only is the premise of Unravelling captivating, so is the execution of it. The story line of Janelle and her death life with her family and friends entwined with this premise is done incredibly well. I enjoyed reading this story through Janelle's eyes equally as much as I enjoyed reading a book about thousands upon thousands of universes.

Janelle is wonderful. It's been a while since I've read a book where I adored the protagonist. If she magically came out of the book, she's the sort of person I would love to friends with. Janelle does all she can to help her family and she works hard in everything she does. Normally it would irritate me to no end if a main character judges and labels people constantly but Janelle realises she is wrong about her presumptions and admits she is wrong and I respect that in a character. She is also bad ass and while I know not all women need to be written as bad ass to be great characters, there's something about a strong female who continually sticks up for herself and points guns at people to demand answers that is just awesome.

Unfortunately, while the Janelle is great, the secondary characters didn't quite hit the mark for me and a lot of them blended together. I couldn't actually distinguish between Ben's friends, Elijah and Reid, until I neared the end of the book which isn't that great considering they play a pretty significant part to the story line. Nick is just Janelle's ex boyfriend and Kevin, Nick's best friend, who really interested me with his surprising layers wasn't really mentioned again after Janelle and Nick split. Hopefully in the next book the secondary characters will be developed more wholly, including Katie (Janelle's ex best friend) and perhaps Kevin will make more appearances.

The romance in Unravelling was a little strange to be honest. It was weird how Janelle could go from never talking to Ben in so many years to being so in love with him, all within a couple of weeks. The connection is understandable, what with Ben bringing her back from the dead, but it was a little hard to accept that Janelle would so wholly fall for a guy who she knows has been watching and pining for her from afar for such a long time. Nonetheless, the two do have a lot of chemistry, they have very cute moments throughout Unravelling and the ending is heartbreaking.

Overall, I very much enjoyed Unravelling. I look forward to seeing where Norris takes the characters, the story line and the romance however... as much as I enjoyed this, I sort of wish there isn't a next book. The ending to Unravelling may leave a couple of questions unanswered but it's sad and bittersweet and pretty complete to me.



Music choice: The lyrics of Wherever You Will Go really sums up the loss and loyalty you see in Unravelling. I thought about using the original The Calling version but I think Charlene Soraia's softer version fits this book a little better so here you go... Wherever You Will Go by Charlene Soraia




Saturday, 10 August 2013

Meme: Stuck In My Head #3 - Pieces


Stuck In My Head is a new weekly meme that spotlights the songs you just can't seem to get out of your head. 


Hello lovelies. :) My pick this week is most definitely the beautiful and soft sound that is Pieces by Cider Sky. I haven't been able to play this song without smiling. I discovered Cider Sky a while back when I heard the song We Are In Love (which is also awesome) but I never branched out and listened to any of their other songs then. Recently I was listening to a hipster playlist (ahahhah ;) ) on Youtube and Pieces came on and I just adored it. 

Anywhoo, here it is, have a listen, it really is beautiful. :) 




What about you? Any song that has been in your head for a while? Feel free to share your song(s) and share if your song(s) remind you of a book. I would love to discover new music and books to get obsessed with. :D

Friday, 9 August 2013

Review: The Hit by Melvin Burgess

Summary (from Goodreads):
Take it. Live it. F*** it.
A new drug is out. Everyone is talking about it. The Hit. Take it, and you have one amazing week to live. It's the ultimate high. At the ultimate price.
Adam is tempted. Life is rubbish, his girlfriend's over him, his brother's gone. So what's he got to lose? Everything, as it turns out. It's up to his girlfriend, Lizzie, to show him...

What surprised me to no end is just how British this book is. I have gotten so use to reading books set in America, I open up a teen book and expect to read about what to wear to high school, studying for SATs and going to college and malls... despite living in England. It was a shock for me to open up The Hit and recognise the dialect as what I tend to hear on the streets and that really made the characters feel that much more real.

Both Adam and Lizzie, and the secondary characters also, are extremely realistic and I applaud Burgess for being able to create characters that are not only interesting to read about, but also believable. Adam isn't exactly the most likeable of characters, what with his inability to really think about anybody but himself and Lizzie also, grated me due to her constant naivety but flawed, slightly irritating but realistic characters are better than perfect and unrealistic ones any day.

Similar to the characters, the romance isn't fiction perfect. Adam and Lizzie don't get together and unconditionally love each other after overcoming the problem of their social class difference. They fight, they both do things wrong, they don't communicate well so they often keep things bottled up inside and Adam, like most teenage boys, really wants sex to the point where he repeatedly nearly drives Lizzie away. What I liked about this romance is that even by the end of The Hit, all their problems aren't resolved and it isn't written as if the two are destined to live their whole lives together; it is a teen romance through and through.

The plot is probably the best thing about The Hit. The Hit is about Britain on the very cusp of a revolution.. it is truly thrilling to read. Emotions run high and loyalty runs deeper than blood. It is a world where the rich are simply getting richer and the poor seem to getting more poor by the day so people group together to really do something about it. This isn't a dystopian book where a group of rebels and outcasts are fighting a tyrannous government hundreds of years in the future... it is hundreds and hundreds teenagers who would rather live a week of bliss than their whole lives and it is every day people wanting more for themselves.. and it's something that could happen. I would have actually preferred more attention to the actual revolution to the romancing of Lizzie and Adam.

Nonetheless I enjoyed reading this book and the premise is both plausible and terrifying making for a fascinating read, especially for a teenager living in England. One thing is for sure, I will definitely be delving into the world of British YA literature much more after reading this.


Music choice: I thought at first what could be more British than Power To The People by The Beatles' John Lennon but I didn't really think that the song epitomised the anger and desperation of the Zealots in The Hit so... I've picked TWO QUEEN SONGS. One of which is We Are The Champions for the revolution side of things...


..and the other being Don't Stop Me Now for the insane high of Death. 




Monday, 5 August 2013

Review: The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

Summary (from Goodreads):

Mara Dyer doesn’t think life can get any stranger than waking up in a hospital with no memory of how she got there.
It can.

She believes there must be more to the accident she can’t remember that killed her friends and left her mysteriously unharmed.
There is.

She doesn’t believe that after everything she’s been through, she can fall in love.
She’s wrong.

One thing I couldn't stop thinking about while reading The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer was why on earth Mara and her friends went to this old and abandoned asylum in the first place. I'm all for some thrills and living living life on the edge (sometimes I go for it and pick a book at random from my bookshelf without even looking at the title.. I am thrill seeker, my friends) but there is no reason for going to a scary building in the dead of night. I don't care how bored you are, walking into an abandoned asylum is like that girl in the horror movies who hears the noise in the basement and decides to open the door anyway. No, don't do that. Just run. Run.

Now that I've got that off my chest.. This beautiful looking (yes, I judge books by their covers, sue me) book is basically about a girl, Mara, who wakes up in a hospital to discover that her best friend, her best friend's friend and her boyfriend have died in a collapsing asylum that she survived virtually unscathed. Her whole family then relocate to Florida and she starts at a new school where she catches the eye of known womaniser Noah Shaw. There's also a string of sudden deaths, a couple of dead insects, some alligators, a handful of hallucinations and flashbacks on Mara's part and a kidnapping for good measure and it's all a bit random and mysterious.

If nothing else, this book is definitely different. The new mysterious girl falling for the bad boy has been done before but the plot is a fresh one that I enjoyed reading. The random occurrences and deaths were a little hard to follow at first but having never read a book where the main character is responsible for the mysterious deaths without really understanding how, I wanted to read on and find out how and why. Also, the unraveling of the mystery of the original deaths of her friends and her miraculous escape is really interesting to read because the reader finds out new aspects of that night at the same time as Mara gradually remembers them.

As much as I liked the overall idea behind this book and I enjoyed the flashbacks, the romance and the main characters really dragged this read down for me. At first Mara was a really cool protagonist who always had a witty response on the tip of her tongue but when I hoped Mara would investigate the murders, she was spending all of her time wondering if she should give Noah the time of day. It was disappointing that her whole world was about this guy now and she doesn't make any friends other than Jamie who appears a couple of times to help her with her homework and tell her not to date Noah and she doesn't do anything apart from draw Noah.

Overall, although I really liked the premise of this novel and a lot of the story line really appealed to me, I think the premise could have been executed better if there was less attention given to the romance and more to Mara really discovering herself and uncovering the truth. I wanted less romance and more Mara worrying and finding out why people are randomly dropping dead around her. If you enjoy angsty should-I-should-I-not teen romance with a little creepy thrown in, you will probably enjoy The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer but if you want more story line and characters actively trying to get shit done rather than romance... this probably isn't for you.

(P.S. The ending is surprising. Very.)



Music choice: I guess this is for Mara losing her best friend, Rachel. That moment when Mara asks about Rachel in her hospital bed is awwhr... 

Losing Hope by Jack Johnson



Saturday, 3 August 2013

Meme: Stuck In My Head #2 - If I'm Gonna Fall In Love


Stuck In My Head is a new weekly meme, hosted here, that spotlights the songs you just can't seem to get out of your head. 


Earlier this week I was scrolling through my recommendations on Youtube, as you do, and I came across a cover of a song I hadn't heard of before and I clicked on it, as you do, and I really loved it so I looked up the original version and.. it's just adorable. 

I have been playing this over and over again this week and I know I'm probably going to get sick of it soon but at the moment If I'm Gonna Fall In Love by A Rocket To The Moon is what is stuck in my head this week, my friends. A Rocket To The Moon have been a band since 2006 and they recently announced that they would be breaking up but as I haven't heard a single song by them other than If I'm Gonna Fall In Love I guess I have 7 years of music to last me. :) 

Have a listen... 



Oh and also, here's the cover I heard first.. 


What about you? What has been stuck in your head? I'd love to know so please do comment with you favourite tunes or create your own Stuck In My Head post. Oh, and if you're a fellow avid reader, does If I'm Gonna Fall In Love or a pick of your own remind you of a book you're reading or have read?

Thursday, 1 August 2013

Review: Speechless by Hannah Harrington

Summary (from Goodreads):

Everyone knows that Chelsea Knot can’t keep a secret

Until now. Because the last secret she shared turned her into a social outcast—and nearly got someone killed.

Now Chelsea has taken a vow of silence—to learn to keep her mouth shut, and to stop hurting anyone else. And if she thinks keeping secrets is hard, not speaking up when she’s ignored, ridiculed and even attacked is worse.

But there’s strength in silence, and in the new friends who are, shockingly, coming her way—people she never noticed before; a boy she might even fall for. If only her new friends can forgive what she’s done. If only she can forgive herself.

I'm pretty sure Harrington wants me track her down and give her a massive hug or like, homemade cookies or something. Do you think it would freak her out if I told her I loved her?

To put it very simply if awesome was a thing, it would be Speechless.

Despite the blurb the UK bright blue colourful cover fooled me into thinking that this novel would be a light hearted read but boy, was I wrong. The novel deals with a lot of real current issues in school including the brutalities of popularity hierarchies, bullying, prejudice and discrimination. It's scary how easily someone who was once feared can be outcasted and bullied so much by the people she used to call her friends and even scarier still, how some people can judge, verbally hurt and physically hurt others for something so small like race or sexuality.

"It seems so impossible that someone could look at them, see how plainly they care for each other, and find anything ugly or shameful or worthy of hatred in it, when all I see is something beautiful."
pg 256

Harrington clearly tells the reader through Speechless that words are powerful and that if you don't think or if you use your voice to cause pain then there will be consequences for you and for the people around you. There are a lot of lessons that can be learnt from Speechless which makes it so worthwhile to read.

The characters really make the book.. Harrington creates realistic characters that aren't all bad or all good. Even Kristen who is the epitome of evil at the beginning is shown to have a vulnerable, softer side by the end. I adored Chelsea who does sacrifice everything that is important to her in order to do the right thing and she gradually develops as a character growing more compassionate and empathetic as she adapts to being outcasted and as she gets closer to her new friends.

God, the love I have for Chelsea's new friends. Asha who is honest and kind and just everything I really want to be. Andy also, who may have understandably been a bit of a douche but Andy does forgive Chelsea and their friendship does become pretty adorable.

Speaking of new friends, there is one character I have deliberately not talked about until now and that is because he is on a whole new level for me. The amount of fangirling I did when Sam appeared and was said to be a skateboarder (I am honestly squealing right now) and right off the bat, Sam is just the nicest guy.


The way the relationship between Sam and Chelsea develops, even though she can't actually talk, is one of the cutest things I have ever read. Sam is forgiving and caring and gaaah, if fiction guys were real. 

This book is everything you would want from a contemporary Young Adult book; realistic characters free from stereotypes, gradual character growth, a sweet romance, an interesting premise and lessons that you can actually apply to your own life. Although the cosy work place in a cafe is a little cliche (The Truth About Forever is the only one I can think of right now where the protagonist suddenly gets a job with an eccentric catering crew/diner/cafe and feels at home with this array of awesome workers but there have been more, I promise!) Harrington is officially one of my favourite authors and I can't wait to read more of her works. I recommend that you read both this gem and Saving June and I really hope that you enjoy them as much as I have. :) 


Music choice: I guess this is a pretty obvious choice but when I was reading Speechless this was the first song that came to find. It summarises the messages in Speechless and the catchy but serious tune is what I think this book is; enjoyable but also deep and meaningful. 

Same Love by Macklemore and Ryan Lewis ft. Mary Lambert.. 



Wednesday, 31 July 2013

Meme: "Waiting On" Wednesday #8 - Just One Year



"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly meme, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming novels that we're all eagerly anticipating.


It's been way, way too long since I've done a "Waiting On" Wednesday but here it is my fellow book lovers... this is the book that I would sell my soul for because you know, what use is my soul right now when I could have this book?!


Series: The sequel to Just One Day... yeaaah! 
Expected publication: October 15th 2013 by Dutton Children's

Summary (from Goodreads): 
After spending an amazing day and night together in Paris, Just One Year is Willem's story, picking up where Just One Day ended. His story of their year of quiet longing and near misses is a perfect counterpoint to Allyson's own as Willem undergoes a transformative journey, questioning his path, finding love, and ultimately, redefining himself.

I know that there isn't very long to wait for Just One Year, just a couple more months, but I have recently finished Just One Day and I just.. I just.. I can't deal with this waiting. 



Have you seen that cover!? 

I can't even find the words right now. If you haven't read Just One Day, I order you to read it right this second, you will not regret is, Gayle Forman is such an amazing author and Just One Day honestly blew my mind. 

I need this book. 

Are you waiting for this book too? Fangirl with me! What other books can you not wait for this week? Please comment below with the title and author of the book you're most anticipating or a link to your own "Waiting on" Wednesday because I feel like torturing myself by finding new awesome books with far away expected publication dates. Yeaaah!

Tuesday, 30 July 2013

Meme: Teaser Tuesdays #9 - Speechless


Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn't give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!


I've started doing Teaser Tuesday again! Yay! I absolutely adored Hannah Harrington's Saving June and I'm really hoping Speechless will be another instant favourite. I've only just started the book so I don't know much yet but here you go.. my teaser :) 

"I don't associate with freaks. 
Except this particular freak won't stop staring at me, and it's a chore to act like I'm concentrating on this math homework, so I write I'm Chelsea and slide it to the corner of the desk so she can see. Maybe now she'll leave me alone." 
pg 68, Speechless by Hannah Harrington

Chelsea is a little bitchy, I see.. 
Have you read this book already? Am I going to dislike this girl? Ahhh! A little scared to read this now...

Anywhoo.. what is your Teaser Tuesdays this week? I'd love to have a look so please do tell me your teasers or a link to your own Teaser Tuesdays in the comments. :) 

Review: Looking for Alaska by John Green

Summary (from Goodreads):

Before. Miles "Pudge" Halter's whole existence has been one big nonevent, and his obsession with famous last words has only made him crave the "Great Perhaps" (François Rabelais, poet) even more. Then he heads off to the sometimes crazy, possibly unstable, and anything-but-boring world of Culver Creek Boarding School, and his life becomes the opposite of safe. Because down the hall is Alaska Young. The gorgeous, clever, funny, sexy, self-destructive, screwed-up, and utterly fascinating Alaska Young, who is an event unto herself. She pulls Pudge into her world, launches him into the Great Perhaps, and steals his heart.

After. Nothing is ever the same.

Perhaps John Green just isn't for me. It's true that I've only two of his works but the two that I have read (The Fault in Our Stars and now, Looking for Alaska) are, I believe, his most highly regarded novels.

That's not to say that I didn't enjoy The Fault In Our Stars or Looking for Alaska, I did, it's just that I didn't feel as emotionally invested with the characters as most people and I wasn't too affected by the events that took place in the two novels.

Similar to most readers I didn't completely predict or expect what was going to take place in Looking for Alaska, I knew that something would happen due to the '*insert number here* Days Before' chapter headings leading up to the turning event but I didn't think it would be what it was. (I'm trying to make this review spoiler free but it's pretty hard and I'm not sure if that sentence made too much sense.) The use of the Before count down chapter headings is awesome, it builds up so much tension knowing that something is going to happen soon. The After headings, also, are very effective, the change from  Before to After just really shows the importance and effect of the event to everybody involved.

The characters were interesting to read about but I can't say I liked them very much which is probably why I wasn't very emotionally invested in them or what happens in their lives. I wasn't very keen on Miles' insta obsession with Alaska Young, to be fully honest, I didn't find Miles or any of his new friends to be likable either. While as a teenager, I can understand teenage angst, these characters seemed to drown in self pity and angst. They are judgmental and try to find any way to separate themselves from other people such as the 'Weekday Warriors vs. the poor' feud. There's something the Colonel, Miles' room mate and friend, says about a rival school about how the only thing he hates more than rich kids is rich and stupid kids which really irked me. Also, I found Alaska to be too unpredictable and too blunt to be very enthralling. However, on the up side, I found it compelling to read about Miles' change in the novel from lost and pretty much just existing and not really living to meeting his new friends and coming out of his shell to really appreciate life.

The lack of the characters doing stuff other than getting drunk and pulling pranks didn't bother me. I actually found the philosophical thinking and the characters trying to answer big questions one of the best parts of Looking for Alaska. The religion class which triggered a lot of this thinking added to the book a great deal and it really reminded me of my own philosophy classes at school which was pretty cool.

I feel like an uber bitch for not loving this (because have you seen John Green on Tumblr or Youtube.. he's such an awesome guy) and I do wish I liked it more but... alas, the characters really pulled this down for me. I recommend that if you haven't read Looking for Alaska or The Fault in Our Stars that you do because most people really do love them to bits and you'll probably love it too. I am an anomaly guys. I will probably read more John Green books because he is a great writer, I think it's just that I haven't found the book of his that... fits me yet. :)


Music choice: Miles finding a place where he belongs is one of my favourite things about Looking for Alaska so.. This Is Home by Switchfoot




Sunday, 28 July 2013

Review: Just One Day by Gayle Forman

Summary (from Goodreads):

When sheltered American good girl Allyson "LuLu" Healey first meets laid-back Dutch actor Willem De Ruiter at an underground performance of Twelfth Night in England, there’s an undeniable spark. After just one day together, that spark bursts into a flame, or so it seems to Allyson, until the following morning, when she wakes up after a whirlwind day in Paris to discover that Willem has left. Over the next year, Allyson embarks on a journey to come to terms with the narrow confines of her life, and through Shakespeare, travel, and a quest for her almost-true-love, to break free of those confines.

SOMEBODY TAKE ME TO AN UNFAMILIAR PLACE AND GET LOST WITH ME. I WANT TO FALL IN LOVE AND PERHAPS EVEN STAY IN LOVE. I WANT TO MAKE A TRUE FRIEND WHO ENCOURAGES ME TO FIND HAPPINESS. I WANT TO JUMP AND TAKE A LEAP OF FAITH.

There are endless reviews of Just One Day on this wonderful world we call the internet and the majority of them say that this novel is an amazing one of personal growth and love. They say that Forman is an exquisite storyteller who seems to craft realistic, complicated and enthralling characters with ease. And I agree.. completely and wholly. But I never doubted this; I never doubted Just One Day would be beautifully written or that characters would evoke an array of emotions in me. After reading If I Stay and Where She Went for me the layered characters and raw storytelling of Just One Day was a given that Forman.

What I didn't completely expect was the effect Just One Day has on me. While reading If I Stay and Where She Went I empathised with the characters, I cried for them and I wanted them to get there happily ever after and while I felt the same things for the characters of Just One Day, I also felt like the story really changed me. I don't think I've read a book that has ever affected me in a way like this one has.

At the beginning when Allyson is surrounded by her tour group but feels so disconnected, I knew Just One day would be an instant favourite for me because Forman seemed to put into words how being alone and being lonely are two completely different things. When Allyson watched the Guerilla Will performance of Twelfth Night I wanted to go out and find something that made my eyes shine with awe. When Allyson got lost in Paris with Willem I wanted to immerse myself somewhere. The moment Allyson told her guidance counselor that she didn't know what to do and she didn't want to disappoint her parents, it struck a chord in me. Everything Allyson does or feels in this book either made me feel understood or made me want to take control of my own life.

What I'm trying to say really is that not only is this book gorgeously written and not only is the love story heartbreaking, Just One Day is inspiring and the emotions appear to fly off the pages and inhabit your very core.

I definitely recommend Just One Day to all of you, it isn't exactly a light summer read but it is a damn good book written by a damn good author. There's no question as to if I'll read Just One Year, reading this book barely gave me any information about Willem and getting inside his head will just be insane.



Music choice: This song has been playing on the radio non stop at the moment and I heard it again a couple of hours ago and all I could think of was this book... 

'I didn't know I was lost'

This is Wake Me Up by Avicii 





Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...